• Digital Creator Lab
  • Posts
  • From Cubicle to Cabana: Embrace Location Independence through selling online

From Cubicle to Cabana: Embrace Location Independence through selling online

Ok, I have been a little absent lately with the Newsletter, but we are back on track! I got off track due to traveling. I visited the Azores, Portugal earlier this month for 2 weeks. It was a lot of fun and it got me thinking about this week's topic about working online and working anywhere.

You see, the cost of living is very low in the Azores. Whenever I told anyone this, they would tell me, "The income is low here" as a reasoning as to why the prices didn't seem low to the citizens there.

But, here's the thing. If you make money online, those location barriers are torn down. If you make money online, "where you live" isn't recognized by the online Gods. If you sell books, do e-commerce, or have a software program that makes you thousands each month, then the cost of living in that country really is low.

If you build an online business selling digital or info products, you can have location freedom to live anywhere you want. This is why I am passionate about selling digital products instead of physical inventory.

WHY THE NOMAD LIFESTYLE?

I hate the stock photos showing someone on the beach with a laptop working just as much as you do. There are many reasons however to have a good online income so you can have options where you live. Take it from someone like me that has moved out of state a few times. It's very valuable to decide to live somewhere and already have your income figured out because you have it regardless of where you live.

The main reason many Americans look to go to other countries is due to the cost of living and taxes. Perhaps you'd like to be a snowbird and live in another country for part of the year for the good weather and cheaper prices. This is a viable option also when you work online.

While I was in Portugal, these are the things that were going through my head. My main income comes from my Insurance Agency which is location based in South Carolina. This makes it difficult to pick up and go somewhere. If the majority of my income was online, then it would make it easy to be in Portugal for half the year or something.

So, check out the resources below about living in other countries and being remote, and start thinking about potential places to live and enjoy your location freedom.

3 PIECES OF CREATOR CONTENT

-Article showing the most affordable, low-cost places to be a digital nomad in.

-Video about ways to become a digital nomad.

-Cool video with many random people on an island being asked what they do to earn online.

2 ONLINE TOOL FINDS

Here are this week’s tools that I have found that you may like.

WRAP UP

Thanks for checking out this week's issue of Wifi Money Letter. I'd be curious to know which country you'd like to spend time in as a digital nomad if you could. Just reply to this or let me know on Twitter! I wanted to write this issue as a reminder to us all that making money that isn't tied to a location, is important.

Best,

Flavio

Reply

or to participate.